Last week I was hidden away in Brighton – clearly I picked the right week for it as the weather was amazing!

This week’s blog is all about stop planning and start doing – mainly because that was what I had to do last week.  I have spent months planning and now was the time to actually get on with it.  It’s kind of like the first day back at school – new stationery (yes, thank you Paperchase of course), biscuits and tea (of course – life’s essentials), change of environment to shake things up a bit inside the old noggin (yes – look I can see the sea from here).

And now there are no more excuses – only time to write…

So how to actually get started…

Start off small
I started with an intro piece of what I am going to do, in this case a piece on who the materials for and what they will do for the reader, this allows me to frame it all and make sure that what I create is actually delivering what I planned. Then pick of each item mentioned one at a time.  It’s basically baby steps but it works.

Timeframe it
By the next tea and biscuit stop I am going to have written xx section.  At 6pm I am going out for a walk and I’ll have written xx by then. Adding in a timeframe helps to force productivity, a bit like a work deadline sometimes we only actually get stuff done under pressure, adding this little bit extra helps me to focus on getting it done.

Remove distractions
Turn off the wifi, phone notifications, Facebook etc and get on with it. It’s far too easy to get distracted when you get stuck on how to phrase something, then it takes ages to get back into your flow.  Just keep going.  The same goes for distracting noises (what was that? – get up to look out of the window) I use a sound sound-scaping website to drown these out, you can set ambient noises to suit you – birds tweeting, coffee shop noises you name it!

No more planning
No more work on planning the next section until you have written the first one!

Don’t review what you’ve written
It’s all too easy to get sucked into reviewing and perfecting the first piece you’ve written meaning that you then get nothing else done as you are just faffing with the first piece.  Write it, park it, write the next one, park that and so on until you have finished the first section.  Then go back to it and start editing.

So after three days of writing I am still way off the finished article but I’ve got a good start on, so the next question is where to go and stay to write next?

For more blogs, mutterings and musings and to be kept updated of our course and ebook launches sign up at www.cozmclavy.com

Follow me on Facebook: www.facebook.com/cozmclavycom